A Member Supported Not-for-Profit

272 Bedford Street, Stamford | Box Office (203) 967-3660

The Avon

A Member Supported Non-Profit Independent Cinema

272 Bedford Street • Stamford, CT 06901
Box Office: 203-967-3660 • 203-661-0321 Office

Avon Scholarship Essay Contest

Deadline: Wednesday, May 15, 2013

Essay Contest


$4,500 in College Scholarship Prizes
$2,000 First Place
$1,500 Second Place
$1,000 Third Place

Granted to Seniors graduating from a public or private high school in Fairfield or Westchester County.

“Why Film Matters”

In 500-750 words, please discuss a film released in 2012 or 2013 that you believe has relevance. It may be a feature film or documentary, American or foreign. Please tell us why you think this particular film matters and how film, in general, impacts our society. Please do not re-tell the story. The content of your response is more important than the length. You do not need to be a film studies major to enter the contest. The Scholarship Award check will be made out to the college or university you will be attending this Fall.

Click here to download the application


judging criteria

Contact Louisa Greene, Director of Development & Marketing
203-550-2697 or lgreene@avontheatre.org


The Avon Scholarship Essay Contest is sponsored by the Avon Film Education Initiative, which promotes film literacy by supporting teacher and student attendance at the Avon and by granting scholarships to high school seniors. The essays will be read by a panel of professional journalists and published authors. Through its diverse offerings of independent, foreign, documentary, and historical films, the Avon is committed to instilling a life-long appreciation of the art and significance of film.




Coming Soon

Fading Gigolo

Special Events

Essay Competition
Essay 2014

Click here

All about the Avon

Avon Member Discounts

Click here

The Avon Theatre on

Facebook  Twitter


French Cinematheque

Click here

Gift Cards are now available at the box office or by calling 203-661-0321

The Avon Theatre
is a proud member of

League of Historic American Theatres